[Archivesspace_Users_Group] Nominations Requested for ArchivesSpace Governance Board

Gordon Daines gordon_daines at byu.edu
Thu Mar 1 13:23:31 EST 2018

As chair of the ArchivesSpace Nominating Committee, I am writing to seek your nominations of candidates to stand for election for the ArchivesSpace Governance Board<http://www.archivesspace.org/board> representing the Very Large and Small membership levels. Member engagement is critical to the success of ArchivesSpace, and the Board relies upon your recommendations for strong candidates. Even if you represent a different category of membership, please consider colleagues you know at other institutions.

Only ArchivesSpace members representatives may submit nominations. All other staff of ArchivesSpace member organizations must submit nominations through their Member Representative. All Member Representatives are strongly encouraged to consult with all interested colleagues within their organization to solicit recommendations for nominees. Self-nominations are also welcome if you represent a Very Large or Small member institution.

To submit nominations, send names and the institutional affiliation for each, indicating whether or not you have contacted the nominee, so that a member of the nominating committee can follow up with the nominee accordingly to confirm interest. Self-nominees can simply indicate their interest. Nominees who confirm their interest in standing for election will be requested to supply a formal candidate statement outlining their qualifications for serving on the ArchivesSpace Governance Board (see: http://archivesspace.org/about/governance-board-and-councils/).

Nominations must be received by 9:00 p.m. EDT Friday, April 15, 2018. They should be sent to ArchivesSpace Program Manager ArchivesSpace Program Manager (Christine Di Bella) at christine.dibella at lyrasis.org<mailto:christine.dibella at lyrasis.org>, who will collect nominations on behalf of the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee will review all nominations and confirm a slate of nominees with the current Governance Board. An election ballot will be circulated to member institutions in mid-May.

The current incumbents at the Very Large and Small membership levels are not standing re-election as representatives to the Governance Board<http://www.archivesspace.org/board>. The terms for their successors will be July 1, 2018-June 30, 2021. Each newly elected member representative will be eligible to run for a second term, July 1, 2021-June 30, 2024.

Nominees must be currently employed by an ArchivesSpace member organization in either the Very Large or Small member levels (see the member lists at: <http://www.archivesspace.org/members> http://archivesspace.org/community/whos-using-archivesspace/). Nominees should have administrative and fiscal oversight experience, characteristics typical of director or associate director level staff. The Governance Board is charged with providing oversight for the ArchivesSpace application and community, including fiscal oversight, the approval of development priorities, and oversight of the Technical and User Advisory councils.

To meet the needs of a broad and diverse membership in a balanced and equitable way, the Governance Board is composed of twelve members, including:

9 voting members:

5 elected members, one from each of the five membership categories;

3 standing members, one representing each of the three original project partners (New York University, UC San Diego, and the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign); and

1 member representing the LYRASIS management team.

3 ex officio members:

ArchivesSpace Program Manager,

LYRASIS Director of Collection Services and Community Supported Software, and

1 member of the LYRASIS Board of Directors.

Please feel free to contact me or any member of our Nominating Committee with any questions. Again, nominations should be sent to ArchivesSpace Program Manager (Christine Di Bella) at christine.dibella at lyrasis.org<mailto:christine.dibella at lyrasis.org>. All nominations must be received by April 15, 2018.

Thank you for your participation in this important process, which is an essential part of our identity and operations as a community-based software organization.


J. Gordon Daines III
Brigham Young University
Chair, and Governance Board member

On behalf of Nominating Committee members:

J. Gordon Daines III, Brigham Young University Chair, and Governance Board member
Max Eckard, University of Michigan, Chair of Technical Advisory Council

Suzanne Stasiulatis, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, Chair of User Advisory Council
Jordon Steele, Johns Hopkins University, representing very large membership level
Amanda Focke, Rice University, representing large membership level
Amanda Lanthorne, San Diego State Universtiy, representing medium membership level
Rebekah Irwin, Middlebury College, representing small membership level
Dylan McDonald, Center for Sacramento History, representing very small membership level
Christine Di Bella, (ArchivesSpace Program Manager), ex officio

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lyralists.lyrasis.org/pipermail/archivesspace_users_group/attachments/20180301/5df0483a/attachment.html>

More information about the Archivesspace_Users_Group mailing list