[Archivesspace_uac] FW: [Archivesspace_Users_Group] Nominations Requested for ArchivesSpace Governance Board

Tang, Lydia ltang5 at msu.edu
Tue Jan 28 12:36:32 EST 2020

From: <archivesspace_users_group-bounces at lyralists.lyrasis.org> on behalf of John Wilkin <jpwilkin at illinois.edu>
Reply-To: Archivesspace Users Group <archivesspace_users_group at lyralists.lyrasis.org>
Date: Tuesday, January 28, 2020 at 11:19 AM
To: "archivesspace_users_group at lyralists.lyrasis.org" <archivesspace_users_group at lyralists.lyrasis.org>, "archivesspace_member_reps at lyralists.lyrasis.org" <archivesspace_member_reps at lyralists.lyrasis.org>, ArchivesSpace Board of Trustees mail list <archivesspace_bot_members at lyralists.lyrasis.org>
Subject: [Archivesspace_Users_Group] Nominations Requested for ArchivesSpace Governance Board

As chair of the 2019/20 ArchivesSpace Nominating Committee, I seek your nominations of candidates to stand for election for the ArchivesSpace Governance Board representing the Large, Medium and Very Small membership levels. Member engagement is critical to the success of ArchivesSpace, and the Board relies upon your recommendations for strong candidates. You may nominate individuals in your own membership level as well as membership levels other than your own.

We are seeking one additional candidate for the Large level, two for the Medium level, and one additional candidate for the Very Small level. (The current incumbents at the Large (Gordon Daines) and Very Small (Nick Zmijewski) membership levels are running for re-election as representatives.) The terms for all successful candidates will be July 1, 2020-June 30, 2023. Each newly elected member representative will be eligible to run for a second term, July 1, 2023-June 30, 2026.

Nominees must be currently employed by an ArchivesSpace member organization in either the Large, Medium or Very Small member levels (see the member lists at: http://archivesspace.org/community/whos-using-archivesspace/<https://urldefense.com/v3/__http:/archivesspace.org/community/whos-using-archivesspace/__;!!HXCxUKc!gGesJK-LIEsCbQT9sBUQ7xjMZ6VKtUjAFOQfPk7yEW4L5XlcF10hp9cLGGHE0S8KUA$>). Nominees should have administrative and fiscal oversight experience, characteristics typical of director or associate director level staff. The Governance Board is charged with providing oversight for the ArchivesSpace application and community, including fiscal oversight, the approval of development priorities, and oversight of the Technical and User Advisory councils.

To submit nominations, including self-nominations, please submit this form at https://forms.gle/PTvzTXoMCkHQdNga8<https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/forms.gle/PTvzTXoMCkHQdNga8__;!!HXCxUKc!gGesJK-LIEsCbQT9sBUQ7xjMZ6VKtUjAFOQfPk7yEW4L5XlcF10hp9cLGGFGfKK6BQ$>. Nominees who confirm their interest in standing for election will be requested to supply a formal candidate statement outlining their qualifications for serving on the ArchivesSpace Governance Board (see: http://archivesspace.org/about/governance-board-and-councils/<https://urldefense.com/v3/__http:/archivesspace.org/about/governance-board-and-councils/__;!!HXCxUKc!gGesJK-LIEsCbQT9sBUQ7xjMZ6VKtUjAFOQfPk7yEW4L5XlcF10hp9cLGGFVMAkztA$>). The Nominating Committee will review all nominations and confirm a slate of nominees with the current Governance Board. An election ballot will be circulated to member institutions in mid-May.

Nominations must be received by 9:00 p.m. EDT Friday, April 24th. Please contact Christine Di Bella, ArchivesSpace Program Manager, at christine.dibella at lyrasis.org<mailto:christine.dibella at lyrasis.org> or any member of the Nominating Committee with questions.

Thank you for your participation in this important process, which is an essential part of our identity and operations as a community-based software organization.


John Wilkin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Chair, and Governance Board member

On behalf of the Nominating Committee members:
Lydia Tang, Michigan State University, Chair of the User Advisory Council
Maggie Hughes, Huntington Library, Chair of the Technical Advisory Council
Max Eckard, University of Michigan, representing very large membership level
Jay Trask, University of Northern Colorado, representing large membership level
Kelly Spring, East Carolina University, representing medium membership level
Courtney Tkacz, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, representing small membership level
Patrick Galligan, Rockefeller Archive Center, representing very small membership level
Christine Di Bella, (ArchivesSpace Program Manager), ex officio


John P. Wilkin
Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson Dean of Libraries and University Librarian
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
230 Library, MC-522
1408 W. Gregory Drive
Urbana, IL 61801

jpwilkin at illinois.edu<mailto:jpwilkin at illinois.edu>
Assistant: Lucretia Williams | lawillia at illinois.edu<mailto:lawillia at illinois.edu>

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lyralists.lyrasis.org/pipermail/archivesspace_uac/attachments/20200128/7a3eb0d6/attachment.html>

More information about the Archivesspace_uac mailing list